Great Q&A On HTML5 Mozilla & Games

rob hawkesHere’s a great Q&A  by Rob Hawkes covering HTML5, Mozilla and Games.

Here’s the first Q&A thought Id share it here.

@PaulAdamDavis What other devices do you hope web technologies will come to work with, and what could be achieved?
Rob Hawkes: Oooh, good question! I suppose the first thing I’m excited about seeing is the Boot to Gecko [now Firefox OS] device we’re working on at Mozilla. It’s basically a phone built with HTML5 and JavaScript, allowing you to rewrite the actual phone operating system with no more than the technology you normally build a website with.

Aside from that, I’m mostly interested in seeing decent support for HTML5 and JavaScript on TVs, set-top boxes and consoles. There is a splattering of support right now but the browsers are poor and the performance isn’t amazing. I’m just excited for the day when I can plug a gamepad directly into my TV and play games without needing a console.

What this all means is that we’ll soon be able to have a truly cross-device technology stack (HTML and JavaScript). I’m fascinated about that prospect and what it will enable developers to do.

@tomstuttdesign What do you see as your biggest triumph?
RH: This is a hard one. I suppose getting the job at Mozilla is my proudest moment – it’s definitely the pinnacle of my life so far. But then again, writing the Foundation HTML5 Canvasbook was a pretty amazing experience. And getting through university while writing the book and getting the job at Mozilla and still achieving a First was a big moment for me.

The reason why is the same for all of them really: they’re the visible outcome of years of hard work. I’ve been playing with web technologies since I was 12 (13 years ago) and things are only now beginning to pay dividends. The one thing I’ve learnt is that you shouldn’t aim for or expect these triumphs (as nice as they are), you should just do what you love doing. Anything else is a bonus.

Its a really interesting tit for tat and well worth going through if your doing anything with HTML5 and games.

Read the full article here… 

Leave a Reply

